All-MET Award Winners Announced

The All-MET award winners have been announced and D’Angelo Harrison of St. John’s is the recipient of this season’s Haggerty Award. The award is given to the best Division I men’s basketball player in the New York City area as voted upon by the media. Full award winners and my personal vote are below.

Official Award Winners:

Haggerty Award: D’Angelo Harrison, St. John’s
Coach of the Year: Steve Masiello, Manhattan
Rookie of the Year: Jon Severe, Fordham

All-MET 1st Team: Sean Armand, Iona; George Beamon, Manhattan; Jason Brickman, LIU; Fuquan Edwin, Seton Hall; Jameel Warney, Stony Brook
All-MET 2nd Team: A.J. English, Iona; Rhamel Brown, Manhattan; JaKarr Sampson, St. John’s; Kyle Wilson, Army; Alex Rosenberg, Columbia; Branden Frazier, Fordham
All-MET 3rd Team: David Laury, Iona; Kadeem Jack and Myles Mack, Rutgers; Sidney Sanders Jr., FDU; Zeke Upshaw, Hofstra; Eugene Teague, Seton Hall

My Selections (I was one of the All-MET voters):

Haggerty Award: D’Angelo Harrison, St. John’s (George Beamon, Manhattan second; Jameel Warney, Stony Brook third)
Coach of the Year: Tim Cluess, Iona (I picked Steve Masiello second and am completely okay with him winning, just thought Cluess had less to work with and had a great regular season. Kyle Smith of Columbia deserves a shout here too.)
Rookie of the Year: Khallid Hart, Marist (thought Hart deserved this award over Severe for sure. I actually had Damon Lynn of NJIT second and Severe third.)

All-MET 1st Team: George Beamon, Manhattan; Alex Rosenberg, Columbia; Jameel Warney, Stony Brook; Fuquan Edwin, Seton Hall; Sean Armand, Iona
All-MET 2nd Team: Jason Brickman, LIU Brooklyn; Sidney Sanders, Jr., Fairleigh Dickinson; Rhamel Brown, Manhattan; David Laury, Iona; Branden Frazier, Fordham
All-MET 3rd Team: Mike Alvarado, Manhattan; Jakarr Sampson, St. John’s; Jalen Cannon, St. Francis Brooklyn; Maodo Lo, Columbia; Marvin Dominique, Saint Peter’s

After some review and thought the one change I would probably make is taking Dominique off and putting Kadeem Jack of Rutgers on the third team. I also think the voters did a good job in general, but Brickman probably should’ve been on the second team. Yes, he had 1,000 assists in his career and averaged a double-double this season, but LIU struggled in general. I know team performance isn’t the best measure of individual performance, but in basketball more than any other sport every player on the court has the opportunity to influence whether his team wins or loses and the Blackbirds struggled mightily at times this season. The other thing I tried to value in my selections? Defense. The debates sure have been fun though.

6 thoughts on “All-MET Award Winners Announced

  1. Shocked that Jalen Cannon of SFC did not make the All-Met Third Team, at least. The Terrier program still continues to get no respect. They’ll have to win the NEC title and move on to the NCAAs in order to finally get it. Good source of motivation going into 2014-2015.


  2. Severe is a joke as rookie of the year. He shot 32% from the field on more than 500 shots, with more turnovers than assists. No D, little basketball IQ.

    Over hyped and definitely overrated.


  3. did you guys see that Robert Morris, an 8-seed, ran all over top-seeded and your pick to win the NIT, St. Johns? I never saw you comment on it.


    1. I most definitely see that happen and it was quite entertaining. Robert Morris has really used the NIT to its benefit the past few seasons.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s